News & Events
Recent News

Announcing the 2023 2SLGBTQI+ Business Leadership Awards’ Winners!

November 15, 2023



The winners of the 2023 2SLGBTQI+ Business Leadership Awards have been announced by Canada’s 2SLGBTQI+ Chamber of Commerce. Over 450 attendees gathered at the Carlu in Toronto last Friday, November 10, 2023, to take part in the 8th annual Black & White Gala and CGLCC’s 20th anniversary celebration. There, this year’s recipients of the Business Leadership Awards were announced. 

Part of CGLCC’s 20-year mission has been, and continues to be, to contribute to a thriving and inclusive Canadian economy. These awards honour companies and individuals making significant contributions to the 2SLGBTQI+ and business communities in Canada. Nominations for these awards were accepted through a community call.

“Although we’ve been working with the community for the past 20 years, and have seen a lot of positive growth and strength, we must also acknowledge that there are very real barriers that continue to face the 2SLGBTQI+ community as a whole in Canada and worldwide,” said CEO of CGLCC, Darrell Schuurman. “There is still work to be done to create safe and equitable spaces for marginalized communities. We must continue to advocate for our voices to be heard.”

Please join us in celebrating the amazing achievements of each of these incredible winners.

Caley Shukalek, Business Leader of the Year

Nuts For Cheese, 2SLGBTQI+ Business of the Year

Fae Johnstone, Young 2SLGBTQI+ Entrepreneur of the Year

BMO, Corporation of the Year

Michael Battista, 2SLGBTQI+ Business Advocate of the Year

Dax Dasilva, Legacy Award


We appreciate all of the hard work these individuals and businesses put into making our community better each day – you all truly embody what it means to be “Igniting the North”! CGLCC would like to thank all those who have been involved in the 2023 2SLGBTQI+ Business Leadership Awards, and once again congratulate all nominees, finalists, and award recipients. Find out more about all the amazing Finalists, as well as past winners on the Leadership Wall of Fame.